How To Video Certified Medical Examiner CME

The National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners was established in accordance with the final rule published by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) in the Federal Register on April 20, 2012. This rule requires that all medical examiners who conduct physical examinations for interstate commercial motor vehicle (CMV) drivers shall: 

• Maintain a valid State license to conduct medical examinations; 

• Complete required training on FMCSA’s physical qualification standards; 

• Pass the FMCSA Medical Examiner Certification Test to demonstrate knowledge of FMCSA’s physical qualification standards; and 

• Complete refresher training every 5 years and recertification testing every 10 years. Beginning May 21, 2014, all medical certificates issued to interstate truck and bus drivers must come from a certified medical examiner.


To qualify to become a certified medical examiner, you must meet the following requirements: Be licensed by your state’s medical board to perform medical examinations in accordance with applicable State laws and regulations. Designations include, but are not limited to, doctors of medicine (MD), doctors of chiropractic (DC), doctors of osteopathy (DO), physician assistants (PA), advanced practice nurses (APN).

Step 1 – Get Registered:

Register at The National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners (NRCME) is a Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) program. It requires all medical examiners (MEs) who wish to perform physical examinations for interstate commercial motor vehicle (CMV) drivers to be trained and certified in FMCSA physical qualification standards. This rule takes effect May 21, 2014.

Step 2 – Take an Accredited CME Training Course:

CME Training Course Providers:

Step 3 – Pass the Medical Examiner Certification Test:

Find a Qualified Testing Organization near your location:

DOT CDL Physical Exam Locations/Forms – Choose a State

Copyright © 2002–2017 FasterTruck RSSAdvertising